Drabble #5

“Sometimes I wonder,” he began, flopping himself onto the leather couch beside her. “What if my father not being around did more harm than good?”
“You seemed to have turned out alright. Do you think you needed your father in your life to be the man you are today?”
Looking at her he said, “what sort of man am I?”
While lighting a cigarette he said, “what if my wanting kids is my subconscious mulling over a fantasy; a ‘what if’ that could have taken place if he were alive during my childhood?”
“Sigmund Freud would love you.” She said.

Leave a Reply

