Chapter 10

Michael and Donna Davenport married once both had graduated from Stanford, moving to Miami. Five years into the marriage, Donna became pregnant with the couple’s first child. A boy. Samuel Davenport had been born on August 19th just after midnight concluding nineteen hours of labor. He was healthy. His parents cried. Joy could be felt throughout the room.
The family moved from Miami to Missouri when Samuel was a year old. That summer was the first time the three of them would take a summer vacation to Lake Michigan coinciding with Samuel’s birthday.

Two days before Samuel’s third birthday the family was relaxing in their now usual vacation spot which housed adult and kiddie pools when Samuel slipped off his arm floaties and attempted to swim on his own. Michael nor Donna had seen him do this because, while in the kiddie pool under the supervision of a lifeguard, he slipped out and ran towards his parents assuming both had been in the adult pool.

Donna heard the shrieks of another mother first and turned in its direction to see Michael running into the adult pool from the direction of the lodge after visiting the bathroom. By the time he got there it was to late. Samuel Davenport had died almost instantaneously.

The couple sued the lodge and lifeguard for negligence and after a year in court, won the suit. They were awarded five million dollars.

Dad told me this story during the half hour mom had been passed out once hit with the news saying this sort of behavior, along with others, had begun occurring once the loss of Samuel sunk in. In essence, she lost something but got another thing in return. Or this could just be her maternal instincts reacting. He said she once told him that even when a mother loses a child, the instincts never go away.

Once aroused, dad and I watched her blink until recognition filled her vision. “What happened?” She asked with a dazed voice.

“You passed out, honey. Hit your head pretty good. Feeling okay? How many fingers am I holding up?” Dad said, and while holding up four fingers centimeters away from her face mom counteracted with a single one of her own as she sat up.

“I had a horrible dream that Chase said he got a girl pregnant.” Mom said. Dad and I look at one another. “It wasn’t a dream, mom. I told you the news and, like, five seconds later you fell.”

Mom sat staring at a space between dad and I not saying anything. Then, “how did this happen?”
“Simple biology, really. When a man-”
“Michael, spare me your sarcasm please.”
Dad put up his hands in defense. Mom shifted her gaze back to me. “Help me off the floor, Chase.”

I did just that, leading mom to the couch while taking the seat next to her. She never let go of my hand.
Looking at me mom said, “are you sure honey?”

Shaking my head I said, “Charity isn’t the type to lie. She doesn’t even like leaving the house because it causes her so much anixety. Why would she fabricate such a thing? It’s not like I’m loaded.”

My parents looked at each other then back at me. “She plans to keep it, I presume?” Mom asked. I shook my head. “Charity doesn’t seem the type…” Dad said. He was right. Charity may have nothing against abortion but for her personally, it’s not an option.

Shaking her head in her hands for a minute she then sat up straight, fixed her hair, wiped her eyes, and then finally looked at me. “We’ll deal with this. You and Charity, and your father and I, and Charity’s father, we’ll all sit down for dinner and talk this through.”
“Mom, she’s not going to handle it in the way I know you’re thinking.”
“You don’t know what I’m thinking. You don’t want to know what I’m thinking. So please don’t pretend to know.”
“Alright honey calm down.”
“I am calm. I’ve never been more calm than right now.” Mom said, looking over her shoulder at dad.
“Your to-”
“My what? Huh? Spit it out.”
“Never mind.” Dad said, inching away from her.

Turning back to me said said, “talk to Charity. Let her know we’re here to help. Then once she’s broken the news to her father, tell him to call me.”
“May I ask something?” I said.
Mom shook her head.
“What do you mean when you say you’ll deal with this?”

My parents looked at one another again. Dad inched back to the couch, sitting on the arm behind mom. “There’s something we’ve never told you before.” He said.
“Your father and I were awarded money when, well,”
“Dad told me about the money you got for that.”
“I didn’t tell you about another sum, though.” He said.
“Another sum…”
“Two years after the incident your father played the Powerball spur of the moment one night after work.”
“I hate the lotto. I have no idea what compelled me to buy a ticket.” Dad said.
“Nevertheless your father did, and he won.”
“Well, that’s great. But how much did he win? I mean the Powerball is nationwide, isn’t it? Couldn’t have been anything substantial.”
“There were only two winners- myself, and an elderly woman. The jackpot was worth three hundred forty-seven million.”
“So what you’re telling me is-”
“That we’re rich.”

Leave a Reply

