Drabble #29

“I remember as a child,” the gentleman began, “my father would take me to the lake every weekend. Didn’t matter how busy his work schedule became- we would drive up there and not return till dusk Sunday.”

The gentleman scratched his head seemingly lost in the memory.

Placing the tattered ball cap back on his balding head he continued. “My mother worked weekends so the house was always empty. Somehow the house still burned down. Their divorce, like the house, stood no more either.”

He shed a tear.

“My father & I never went back up to the lake after that.”

Leave a Reply

